Episodes 132 and 133 Review

These two episodes where meant to accomplish two things. First, it was to serve as tribute to Yu-Gi-Oh! Millennium as a whole, being one of the final moments in the series before the finale arc. It did through all of the memories and flashbacks, taking us on a trip back through the series. Second, it was supposed to be the most “fanfictiony” episode of the series. I mean come on, it’s my own custom character up against the original character, it doesn’t get much more “fanfictiony” that that.

Before I started these episodes, I wanted to completely overhaul Yugi’s deck in order to give him more of a fighting chance against Yuni. I was going to give him a heavily Dark Magician-themed deck. However, as I wrote the duel, I found that I didn’t necessarily need to do that. Instead, I decided to use as many real (or anime) cards as possible, this also helped with that “fanfiction feeling” I was talking about earlier. Sure, I had to make a card here and there to make it all work out, such as the Magnetic Attraction to make summoning Valkyrion more feasible or a card to make it possible to summon Dark Sage without Time Wizard, but in the end I used mostly cards that Yugi had used, and I was proud of that.

The final two turns where Yuni and Yugi summoned their army of magicians has actually been in planning for a long time. It started off as an idea where Yuni got out all of his Cyber-Tech Magicians in a duel against Ottiuk, but them I decided that it would be even cooler to have Yugi do the same, and them face each other like this. For a while I wasn’t sure how I would ever get them to pull off the move without activating several drawing cards in one turn. Then I realized that using Yugi opened up the possibility of using the anime effect of Cards of Sanctity, the most ridiculous drawing card ever created. And with that, the turns became possible.

Until next time, duel on!

Leave a Reply

