Episode 122 Review

Bet you weren’t expecting that. I’d recently watched the Pyramid of Light, and was thinking about how its place in the Ancient Egypt story line had never been explained. On top of that, the origin of Anubis and the Pyramid of Light itself really needed to be explained. It’s odd that we have this pseudo-Millennium Item, but literally no backstory behind it. As soon as I realized this, I knew that I had to base the Ancient Egypt arc off of Anubis, because there was so much story potential. I started thinking about what this origin story should be. I quickly decided that the Pyramid of Light should be an attempt by Anubis to recreate the Millennium Puzzle and gain power equal or greater than the Pharaoh’s. Then, while I was re-watching the Dawn of the Duel arc, I realized that the Millennium Spellbook had no story either. I figured that the item that is the source of the Millennium Items themselves really needed some more story of its own as well. It was the perfect fit with the origin of the Pyramid of Light. Through in Aknadin, as he was the creator of the original Millennium Items, and I had what I think is a great idea for a story.

Until next time, duel on!

Leave a Reply

