Episodes 53 and 54 Review

***Spoiler Alert***

A dramatic pair of episodes, if I do say so myself. I don’t even know where to start. I guess we’ll talk about Konton first. The word konton means Chaos in Japanese. Back in season 1, Konton was actually originally going to be Apep’s Lord of Chaos name instead of Apophis, but I decided that I liked Apophis better. As for Konton’s character, making him insane was a fairly recent development in my mind. I felt that Season 3 was getting to be all serious, no humor. When I was thinking about different possible character traits, and I thought of insanity, it was an instant fit. And yes, Konton can break the fourth wall (for those who don’t know, that means that a character can talk to the audience). An interesting note is that all of the cards sent to the graveyard by Konton’s Chaos Engine were real cards with Chaos in there names.

Apep being defeated and passing the torch to Yuni is something that I’ve been planning since close to the beginning of Season 1. Even in the middle of Season 2, the computer program Apep made a reference to a mysterious plan for Yuni, only now do we fully know what that plan was. Apep’s final scene was actually very sad for me. Apep is one of my favorite characters, it was sad to see him go. My brother proofreads for me, and when he was reading that scene, I played some sad music, and it really added to the move. It brought a tear to my eye when I was reading along with him.

***End Spoiler Alert***

Until next time, duel on!

Leave a Reply

